Education In India
Institute & University
New Grading System

The Government has sought to strengthen the conditions for schools to achieve their main task through extensive reform efforts. The Government is now proposing a new grading scale, with more levels.

According to the Government, more levels will provide greater clarity in the information given to pupils and their parents/custodians by making the development of pupils' knowledge more visible. The new grading scale will enable teachers to be more precise in their assessments of pupils' knowledge and the extent to which they have achieved the goals. By providing more grade levels between the highest and lowest grade for a pass result, the Government also considers that the new grading scale will encourage pupils to make greater effort, since more pupils will be able to achieve the grade immediately above.

The proposal
When grades are set in the state school system, a six-level grading scale is to be used. These grading levels are called A, B, C, D, E and F. A-E stand for results meriting a pass and F stands for results that do not merit a pass. If there is no basis for making an assessment of a pupil's knowledge because of the pupil's absence, no grade is to be given. This will be indicated in the grade records of the school by a horizontal dash. This dash is to be clearly indicated in the grading certificates issued.

However, in schools for children with learning disabilities and in adult education för people with learning disibilities, grades will not be set for results that do not merit a pass, and the grading level F will thus not be used. Nor will the dash apply to these types of school. Independent schools that set grades will also continue to use the same grading scale as that used in the state school system.

National grade criteria should be in place for the grades A, C and E. These criteria should define the knowledge required to attain these grades. To attain any of the grades A, C and E, the criteria should be met in their entirety, apart from cases in which exemptions can be made under the ordinances for each type of school. Grade D means that the criteria for E and most of those for C are met. Grade B means that the criteria for C and most of those for A are fulfilled.

The value of the grade should be set according to a scale where the grade of F corresponds to 0, E to 10, D to 12.5, C to 15, B to 17.5 and A to 20 in grade value.

Assignment to the Swedish National Agency for Education
The Swedish National Agency for Education should be tasked with reviewing current curricula and grade criteria, and with drawing up criteria for the grade levels of A, C and E in all types of compulsory schooling. The new grading scale should be introduced into the different types of school at the same time as the introduction of new curricula and new grade criteria in these schools.

The Government considers that there will be a need for implementation and skills development measures following the introduction of a new grading scale. It is well known that it takes a long time for new grading scales to become established and for the teachers who will be using them to develop the necessary familiarity with the system. These measures should be taken after new curricula and the grade criteria associated with them have been drawn up and approved for the different types of school.

The process
Minister Jan Björklund decided on 14 March 2007 to appoint a working group at the Ministry of Education and Research - the Grading Committee - to examine the possibility of a new grading scale (U2007:A). Its proposal has been presented in the ministry memorandum A new grading scale (Ds 2008:13). This memorandum has been circulated for comment and subsequently processed at the Government Offices. The Government has now taken a decision on a Bill to the Riksdag, proposing a new grading scale consisting of more levels (Govt. Bill 2008/09:66).